Aller au contenu
Accueil » The world of tea

The world of tea

The World of Tea

                                                         

Capture Decran 2022 01 13 A 14.50.19

The most popular beverage in the world

After a major popularity surge in the 2000s, tea is now the most popular beverage (after water) in the world. 

This plant, cultivated in China since ancient times, quickly spread to the Far East through Buddhist cultures, particularly in Japan and Korea. Later, it was Portuguese and Dutch merchants who brought it to Europe from the 17th century. Once this new clientele was won over to tea and its benefits, Europeans in turn introduced it to their Asian colonies in the 19th century - the English to India, the French to Indochina, the Dutch to Indonesia.

 

From the Producer to your cup

First of all, it must be said that today the main tea producing countries are China, Taiwan (Formosa), India, Sri Lanka (Ceylon), Japan, Vietnam, Nepal, Kenya and Tanzania.

Le Cercle du Thé strives to develop privileged relationships with local producers in countries that excel in this field. This allows us to offer unique teas with exceptional qualities and characteristics.

Capture Decran 2022 01 13 A 14.43.20

 

ONE SHAFT, HUNDREDS OF DIFFERENT TEAS

All teas come from a single species of evergreen shrub grown in two varieties:

– Camellia sinensis Assamica (Assam), et 

– Camellia sinensis sinensis (Yunnan).

Capture Decran 2022 01 13 A 15.52.59

However, there is an enormous variety of teas, distinguished by their origin, cultivation, harvesting and post-harvest treatment. So, as with wine,  la nature of the soil (soil quality, exposure, climate, altitude) is one of the most important criteria of distinction.

 

Japon Plantation M Canis E Orig 1024x600
Exemple de plantation mécanisée au Japon

The type of harvest plays a decisive role. It is the buds and the youngest leaves (small and light green) that give the most desired teas and it is therefore the most selective plucking (bud + one leaf, bud + two leaves, etc.) that will give the "grands crus" that the experts are striving for. It goes without saying that this quality can only be obtained by hand picking.

 

Inde Cueillette Th Web Orig 1024x600
Exemple de cueillette manuelle au Sri Lanka

The main families of tea

Post-harvest treatment is also essential to distinguish teas: use of whole leaves or crushed leaves, withering, drying, oxidation, fermentation, etc.

With all these distinctions and categorisations, it should be remembered that a universal categorisation exists and allows the majority of teas to be grouped under five classification categories:

  • Green teas. Non-oxidised teas. The leaves, after wilting, are heated to a high temperature in order to neutralise the enzymes responsible for the oxidation.
  • Black teas. Oxidised teas. They are called red teas in China because of the colour of the infusion, whereas Westerners retain the colour of the leaves. After withering and rolling (rolling breaks up the cells, releasing the enzymes that will allow fermentation), the leaves are left to rest in a hot, humid room for a few hours for oxidation, then dried at high temperature to stop fermentation.
  • White teas. Like green teas, they are minimally processed and undergo only slight oxidation, but not rolling or roasting. These are generally high quality teas from very selective plucking.
  • Oolong. Oolong or Wulong tea is a type of tea with incomplete oxidation, halfway between green tea, which is not oxidised, and black tea, which is completely oxidised.
    The word Oolong means black dragon and has its origins in a Chinese legend where a planter saw a black dragon emerge from a tea plant whose leaves revealed the woody chestnut and hazelnut notes of Oolong. This tea is also referred to by the colour of its infusion: blue tea. It originated in the Fujian region of mainland China and in Taiwan.
  • Pu'Erh. Pu-erh is a post-fermented tea named after the town of Pu'er in the Chinese province of Yunnan. This town was for a long time an important trading centre on the ancient Tea and Horse Road from Yunnan to Tibet. The tea produced in the region was compressed so that it could be more easily transported by caravan to Tibet. Pu'ehr improves with age and, like wine, its value increases with age.

         

A world to discover

Like wine, the world of tea has its own vocabulary and rituals, which can be learned with curiosity and patience. Respectful preparation (the right teapot for the right tea, the right temperature and infusion time) is the first rule to follow.

Like oenologists, professional tea tasters use an extensive vocabulary to judge the quality of the leaves, the colour of the liquor and the taste properties of the tea.

A whole world to discover. If you are a beginner, you may hesitate to enter le Cercle du Thé. Don't hesitate: you will always find warmth and advice. Tea is a journey towards the world and towards others...

Capture d’écran 2022-01-13 à 16.39.35
CERTIFICATION BIO

CERTIFICATION BIO

EU BIO

EU-BIO

DURABLE

DURABLE

thé vegan

VEGAN

COMMERCE ÉQUITABLE

COMMERCE ÉQUITABLE

Le monde du thé

Une boisson millénaire, ​un monde à découvrir

La boisson la plus bue dans le monde

Le thé est la boisson (après l’eau) la plus bue dans le monde. Cultivé en Chine depuis l’Antiquité, il s’est répandu en Extrême-Orient par les cultures bouddhistes, notamment au Japon et en Corée. Ce sont les marchands portugais et hollandais qui l’ont fait découvrir en Europe au XVIIe siècle et, à leur tour, les Européens l’ont implanté dans leurs colonies asiatiques au XIXe – les Anglais en Inde, les Français en Indochine, les Néerlandais en Indonésie.

Les principaux pays producteurs

Aujourd’hui, les principaux pays producteurs sont la Chine, Taïwan (Formose), l’Inde, le Sri-Lanka (Ceylan), le Japon, le Vietnam, le Népal, le Kenya et la Tanzanie.

Un seul arbuste, des centaines de thés différents

Tous les thés proviennent d’une seule espèce d’arbuste à feuilles persistantes cultivé dans deux variétés: Camellia sinensis Assamica (Assam) et Camellia sinensis sinensis (Yunnan).
Pourtant il existe une variété stupéfiante de thés, que l’on distingue par leur provenance, leur culture, leur cueillette et leur traitement après récolte.

A l’instar du vin, la nature du terroir (qualité des sols, exposition, climat, altitude) est un premier critère de classement.

Le type de cueillette joue un rôle déterminant. Ce sont les bourgeons et les feuilles les plus jeunes (petites et vert clair) qui donnent les thés les plus recherchés et ce sont donc les cueillettes les plus sélectives (bourgeon + une feuille, bourgeon + deux feuilles, etc.) qui donneront les «grands crus» que les connaisseurs s’arrachent. Il va sans dire que cette qualité ne s’obtient qu’avec une cueillette manuelle.

Plantation mécanisée au Japon.
Cueillette manuelle au Sri Lanka.

 

Les grandes familles de thés

Le traitement après récolte est lui aussi essentiel pour distinguer les thés: usage des feuilles entières ou des feuilles brisées ou broyées, flétrissage, séchage, oxydation, fermentation. Ainsi distingue-t-on plusieurs grandes familles de thés:

  • Thés verts. Thés non oxydés. Les feuilles, après flétrissage, sont mises à chauffer à haute température afin de neutraliser les enzymes responsables de l’oxydation.
  • Thés noirs. Thés oxydés. Ils sont appelés thés rouges en Chine à cause de la couleur de l’infusion alors que les Occidentaux retiennent la couleur des feuilles. Après flétrissage et roulage (le roulage permet de briser les cellules, libérant les enzymes qui permettront la fermentation), les feuilles sont mises à reposer dans une pièce chaude et humide pendant quelques heures pour l’oxydation, puis séchées à haute température pour arrêter la fermentation.
  • Thés blancs. Commes les thés verts, ils sont peu transformés et subissent uniquement une légère oxydation, mais ni roulage ni torréfaction. Ce sont généralement des thés de grande qualité provenant de cueillettes très sélectives.
  • Oolong. Le thé Oolong ou Wulong est un type de thé à oxydation incomplète, à mi-chemin entre le thé vert qui n’est pas oxydé et le thé noir dont l’oxydation est complète.
    Le mot Oolong signifie dragon noir et trouve son origine dans une légende chinoise où un planteur vit surgir un dragon noir d’un théier dont les feuilles ont révélé les notes boisées de châtaigne et de noisette du Oolong. Ce thé est également désigné à partir de la couleur de son infusion : thé bleu. Il trouve son origine dans la région chinoise du Fujian, en Chine continentale, et à Taïwan.
  • Pu’Erh. Le pu-erh est un thé post-fermenté qui doit son nom à la ville de Pu’er, dans la province chinoise du Yunnan. Cette ville fut longtemps un important centre commercial situé sur l’ancienne Route du Thé et des Chevaux reliant le Yunnan au Tibet. Le thé produit dans la région était compressé pour pouvoir être plus facilement transporté par des caravanes jusqu’au Tibet. Le pu’ehr se bonifie avec le temps et, tout comme le vin, sa valeur augmente avec l’âge.

Tout un monde à découvrir

Comme celui du vin, l’univers du thé a son vocabulaire et ses rituels, qui s’apprennent avec de la curiosité et de la patience. Une préparation respectueuse (la bonne théière pour le bon thé, une température et une durée d’infusion adaptées) est la première des règles à suivre.
Comme les œnologues, les professionnels de la dégustation du thé utilisent un vocabulaire très étendu pour juger de la qualité des feuilles, de la couleur de la liqueur et des propriétés gustatives du thé.

Tout un monde à découvrir. Si vous êtes débutant(e), peut-être hésiterez-vous à franchir la porte du Cercle du Thé. N’hésitez pas: vous y trouverez toujours chaleur et conseils. Le thé est un voyage vers le monde et vers les autres!